Delete old posts

Comments

4 comments

  • Michael Gorup

    I don't know about anyone else, but I frequently go back over old posts, especially if it's a blog I really like.  I like seeing how they improved, or changed, over the years.

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jennie

    I often go back into my archives, and add old posts from over a year/two years back into my queue. New followers come often, and the old ones don't remember posts from that far back. (Note that this does not significantly increase the disk usage; it's just a db entry pointing to the original.)

    At the same time, it's not unusual to see old posts of mine come across the dash. Particularly popular posts go from clique to clique, and back again, and those are the posts you really want to keep, because of the wide appeal.

    A better solution might be to SHA-256 every image and eliminate duplicates by keeping one copy and a reference count. (Just thinking about the CPU time required for the initial index makes /my/ processor overheat.). On new uploads, it wouldn't be so bad -- sha256 it and look it up in a table. Reference count allows the OP to delete, without other original posts of the same image going away. (Only those in the direct reblog chain of the deleted post would go away.)

    There are very few truly original images on here; most are sourced from other sites, and posted (as original posts) by multiple people, so the increase in disk space would be substantial without data loss.

    [Note: Even though I don't agree with you, I'm not one of the downvoters. I like the fact you're thinking about how to solve the problem.]

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Frank858sd

    Please keep in mind that I'm suggesting an option, not a required deletion. In my case, there are tens of thousands of posts that are many years old that I don't look at, and considering how much I post, I'm pretty certain no one else looks at, once you go back a year or more. I wouldn't even know how to go back and look at these really old posts without going through everything I've posted after, which would literally take days of constant scrolling. 

    -1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jennie

    I understand, but I'm very much against the idea of making deletions easy. Nothing is stopping you from doing it now, but any reblogs of a deleted picture get deleted, too. So you won't just be cleaning up your blog, but deleting them from other people's blogs, too.

    Also, I'm not sure that deleted posts are actually deleted. There may be legal data retention requirements (I really don't know), in which case they are still taking up space, even if they are not visible. (If this is the case, it may be possible to archive these outside of main storage as well, which may help. Too many unknowns to say if this would make a difference.)

    1
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.